29/11/2014 – Ed Sheeran-Thinking out Loud (2014)

Number four with a bullet Ed

 

 

This week’s number four in the chart is Ed Sherran with his latest offering. Sticking to form, it’s another bore-fest. I don’t mean to jump on the Ed-Bashing Band wagon, but this is pretty dull. I totally understand that Ed’s vibe is heartfelt, emotional ballards, but c’mon Ed! Where is the inventiveness? Where is the cleverness? This sound’s like it could have been a bad Britpop b-side in the 1990’s.

 

 

Sadly this isn’t the most worrying about the track. The fact that it’s number four (last week’s number two and previously number one). This is a worrying sign as it shows that the British public, have, well let’s face it, bad taste in music. If this was once our most popular song, it shows that instead of embracing the musical diversity that has been going on for the last few years, we’d rather play it safe and go for something that we’ve heard before, and was done better then.

 

 

There is another more comforting reason for this slow burners rise to the summit of the charts. Perhaps, perhaps it was a slow music week in the run up to Christmas? Something has to be number one right? So why not let Ed have his moment in the Sun after another ‘successful’ year? Sadly I don’t buy this 100%. I had a sinking feeling Ed would have been number one anyway. Come on England, pull your finger out. Next year let’s try and have a better selection with our high charting singles!

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/thisyearinmusicxx

 

 

@thisyearinmusic

 

 

4 comments
  1. Only one question arises as I read this blog post – have you seen the music video of Thinking Out Loud? It’s sort of boring but in a gorgeous way, I think it is better done than the song itself. Check it out or let me know what you thought of it if you have seen it!

    • No I haven’t. As I didn’t like the song I decided not to watch video. I will check it out as it seems hypocritical of me to slag one off and not the other… ha!

      • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lp-EO5I60KA there’s the link! let me know! it took a lot of work for him to learn the dance, and honestly I thought it turned out fairly good for him. Though I hate her outfit, it’s much less formal than his.

      • Its ok. She does all the work though.

Leave a Reply

