09/10/2015 – Iglooghost-Gold Coat (2015)

Iglooghost’s new EP on Brainfeeder is a match made in heaven, well, maybe not heaven, but definitely some kind of day-glo pink lurid dreamland

 

Sometimes you get an email which has words in it that do not register after you first read them. Only through time, and re

-reading do you realise what they mean. This happened to me this week. When going through a recent heavy slew of emails, mostly from estate agents and Irregular Choice, I came upon one that made me smile, but let me baffled. “Brainfeeder Announce ‘Chinese Nü Yr’ EP from Iglooghost Out 30th October”. After a few seconds the words made sense and for the next hour I played said EP.

 

 

For those not in the know, Iglooghost is a bedroom producer that makes day-glo electronic music which is insanely catchy, but also ridiculously complex. Its basically the musical equivalent of popping candy. Fun at first, but nigh on impossible to remove from your teeth and psyche.

 

 

So I decided I needed more info, so I contacted the man himself for a bit of a catch up before he went out topping up his already bulging spice rack

 

 

How and when did you start making music?

I STARTED MAKING MUSIC SO I COULD HEAR THE THINGS I SUPER SPECIFICALLY WANTED 2 HEAR W/O WAITING FOR OTHER PPL 2 MAKE EM. I THINK I WAS 15.

 

What were the songs/albums/artists that inspired you to make music?

OOIOO, FLYLO, STEVE REICH, ONEOHTRIX, AFX, BOREDOMS, TIM HECKER, BJORK. I THINK THEY’RE THE MAINS ONES.

 

What is your relationship to early work?

UHHHH WELL I PROLLY PUT TO MANY CRAPPY THINGS OUT EARLY IN MY DEVELOPMENT I GUESS. THERE’S STILL A MYSPACE UP FROM WHEN IWAS 13 FULL O DISSONANT TERRIFYING CHIPTUNE MUSIC. https://myspace.com/seamusisabadman

 

How do you feel about people selling copies on ebay and Discogs?

LOL ITS WTV. RARE STUFF IS COOL!!!

 

Where did the idea for the EP come from?

I THINK THE INTERNET WHITTLED DOWN MY ATTENTION SPAN A LOT OVER THE LAST 5 YRS OR SO &&& ALL I BEEN CRAVING FOR A WHILE IS FAST MUSIC. 75% OF THE EP IS SUPER FAST &&& HECTIC &&& SAD &&& CHANGES SOMEHOW EVERY BAR. IT’S SORT OF ADHD MUSIC. IT’S ALSO A STORY ABOUT A WORM NAMED XIANGJIAO WHO IS FLYING THRU INFINITE PEACH COLOURED PORTALS RLLY FAST &&& IS SUPER SAD ABT THAT.

 

Is this the start of a saga involving the same character?

YUP U GOT IT! I ALREADY FINISHED THE NEXT THING.

 

How did you get signed to Brainfeeder?

I WAS ABOUT TO RUN A BATH BUT THE STEAM STARTED TURNING PINK AND SMELT FAINTLY OF DUMPLINGS. IT BEGAN TO MATERIALISE INTO A HUMAN SHAPE &&& IT WAS FLYING LOTUS! HE WAS TALKING BACKWARDS SO I HAD TO RECORD HIM ON MY PHONE BUT I REVERSED IT &&& HE ASKED ME IF I WANTED 2 DO A THING 4 BRAINFEEDER! HE HAD ALREADY EVAPORATED THO SO I YELLED “YES!” DOWN THE DRAIN &&& HE DM’D ME WITH A WINKING EMOJI SO I KNEW IT WAS REAL.

 

Did FlyLo call you up?

YEH IT WAS WEIRD &&& THE BEST. I WATCHED EVERY SINGLE ONE OF HIS INTERVIEWS SO IT FELT WEIRD 2 INTERACT W HIM AS A LIVING RECEPTIVE HUMAN RATHER THAN REPLAYABLE VIDEOS IF THAT MAKES SENSE.

 

Your artwork is always distinctive. Do you design it?

YEAH! I THINK ARTWORK IS ONE O THE MOST IMPORTANT PARTS OF MUSIC TO ME. IT CAN OFTEN COMPROMISE IN ASPECTS THAT THE MUSIC MIGHT BE LACKING IN, OR VICE VERSA. I WANT THE SOUNDS &&& PICS &&& EVERYTHING TO FEEL LIKE ITS FROM THE SAME PLACE.

 

If you could classify your music, what term would you use?

EUPHORIC CLUB ANTHEMS / VILE RACIST POLKA DANCEHALL

 

If you could work with anyone, who would it be?

TIESTO, SHOENICE22, TRICK DADDY, JACK Ü

 

What does the rest of 2015 and next year hold for Iglooghost?

A BRIEF GREET WITH A SCHOOL ACQUAINTENCE THAT LASTS 2 SECONDS LONGER THAN IT SHOULD AT A TRAIN STATION, HOUSE ARREST, A 12”, REALISING LOW FAT HUMMUS IS CHEAPER AND TASTES BASICALLY THE SAME AS REGULAR HUMMUS, AN ALBUM FOR BRAINFEEDER, REWATCHING OLD SIMPSONS EPISODES.

 

 

What more reasons do you need to buy this EP on the 30th!

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/thisyearinmusicxx

 

 

@thisyearinmusic

 

 

https://uk.pinterest.com/thisyearinmusic/

 

 

thisyearinmusic on Kindle Blogs

3 comments
  1. I’m so glad that email made sense to you, because I would’ve been FLUMMOXED by it. Enjoyed the interview and had to smile at the “bath/dumplings” story!

  2. Barbara said:

    Enjoyed reading your little catch up. 🙂 Good that you shared his exact text; his personality comes out through it and with his artwork too.

  3. Um. I don’t speak the lingo. Maybe I need a short course. But the music sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

