25/02/2015 – St Vincent-Bad Believer (2014)

The 2015 Brit Awards are this evening, here are my predictions.

 

 

Best Male Solo Artist

 

Damon Albarn

Ed Sheeran

George Ezra

Paolo Nutini

Sam Smith

 

This is a two horse race. The winner will either be Ed Sheeran or Sam Smith. I’m going to stick my neck out and predict Ed Sheeran.

 

Best Female Solo Artist

 

Ella Hednerson

FKA twigs

Jessie Ware

Lily Allen

Paloma Faith

 

This award is a bit more open, however I’m going to the bookies for Paloma Faith!

 

 

British Group

 

Alt-J

Clean Bandit

Coldplay

One Direction

Royal Blood

 

While this will probably go to One Direction, I would like to see Royal Blood win. I don’t really like them, and I find their debut album boring, but it would be great to see a band win!

 

 

International Group

 

5 Second of Summer

Black Keys

First Aid Kit

Food Fighters

The War on Drugs

 

Foo Fighters…. Easy one.

 

 

British Breakthrough Act

 

CHVRCHES

FKA twigs

George Rzra

Royal Blood

Sam Smith

 

This should have Royal Blood written all over it, but sadly I think it’s Sam Smith’s, after his Grammy win.

 

 

British Album of the Year

 

Alt-J-This is All Yours

Ed Sheeran-X

George Ezra-Wanted on Voyage

Royal Blood-Royal Blood

Sam Smith-In the Lonely Hour

 

None of these albums deserves to win, as they weren’t the best album in the last year, but Ed Sheeran should walk this.

 

 

 

British Single of the Year

 

Calvin Harris-Summer

Clean Bandit–Rather Be

Ed Sheeran–Thinking Out Loud

Ella HendersonGhost

George EzraBudapest

Mark RonsonUptown Funk

Route 94My Love

Sam SmithStay with Me

SigmaNobody to Love

 

 

This is always the hardest award to pick, but I think Clean Bandit-Rather Be will take the gong tonight.

 

 

International Male Solo

 

Beck

Hozier

Jack White

John Legend

Pharrell Williams

 

Due to his recent Oscar’s win this week, my money is on John Legend!

 

 

International Female Solo

 

Beyoncé

Lana Del Rey

Sia

St. Vincent

Taylor Swift

 

I would love to see Annie “St. Vincent” Clark to win, but I think Taylor Swift has this in her vault already!

 

 

British Video

 

Calvin HarrisSummer

Ed SheeranThinking Out Loud

Mark Ronson featuring Bruno MarsUptown Funk

One DirectionYou & I

Sam SmithStay with Me

 

This should be Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars’ video, but Ed Sheeran might just take this on the night!

 

 

So these are my predictions, let’s see tomorrow how many I got right…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/thisyearinmusicxx

 

 

@thisyearinmusic

 

 

 

3 comments
  1. I am very embarrassed to admit that I still have no idea who Ed Sheeran is. Am I missing something?! Wouldn’t it be awesome if you’d win something if your predictions came true?! Bad Believer is really cool, definitely listen to it again!

  2. I definitely am guessing Sam Smith because he also won all of the awards here in America 🙂 Another one you mention above that I love is Calvin Harris.

Leave a Reply

