05/01/2015 – Anadel-The Wild (2015)

Melodic Californian ambient indie band’s new album pushes quiet/loud to new peaks

 

 

Anadel had a fight on their hands. They probably realised it at the time, but didn’t get the severity of it. While writing their new album Well and the Wild, they had to try and make an established genre sound new and fresh. The genre is melodic indie. We’ve all heard it, and bought it before. When we hear melodic indie we immediately think of Travis, early Coldplay, mid-period Incubus, and a slew of other bands. What Anadel have cleverly done is keep a similar structure and tempo, but added elements form different genres to try and create something new.

 

 

On the title track The Wild, Anadel add flourishes of ambient to their standard singer songwriter elements. The results are striking, as the songs sound fresh and slightly different to what else is going on. The Wild is also layered, not to within an inch of its life, but subtlety. The instruments are working with each other for the good of the song, rather than each player trying to show off their expertise in their particular field.

 

 

There are downsides to this album though, like with every album every made. After a few songs the lead singers voice starts to resemble Johnny Borrell (of Razorlight and Zazou fame) and grate a bit, like Johnny Borrell (of Razorlight and Zazou fame). While I might be in the minority, personally there is so much of this I can stand before I start craving instrumental breaks. Luckily there are plenty of these and it almost balances out. Ultimately Anadel should be commended, and not condemned, for Well and the Wild. They have stuck to their guns and made the album they wanted to make, and the subtle additions have only helped the tracks. Anadel are on the right track and hopefully next time they’ll release something that delivers totally.

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/thisyearinmusicxx

 

 

@thisyearinmusic

 

 

 

12 comments
  1. Amy said:

    I’ve never heard of this band, but they sound worth checking out. I appreciate it that you offer a balanced viewpoint, with pros and cons!

  2. alethamcmanama said:

    Hey, Nick. Well written post. I’m not familiar with Anadel, but now I know who they are thanks to your review and soundtrack above. Thanks for opening up an opportunity for me to hear new kinds of music!

  3. Goody Bag Mall said:

    Great post, I am not familiar with this genre but good thing you are hear to shed light.

  4. I never heard of Anabel band.
    Thank you for sharing
    Interesting new sound

  5. Never heard of them but they sound really good. BTW I love Rise Against the Machine

  6. Sounds like a great sound. I would have to listen to a few more of their songs to really see what you mean. I could get into that genre

  7. Bradley Finnearty said:

    I like the song that you featured. I have been a fan of this type of music for a long time.

  8. This music brings back memories of the old days. Thank you for sharing

  9. This music is new to me. I find it very interesting genre

  10. Kenneth Campbell said:

    I don’t understand your con. JT Bailey doesn’t sound anything like the singer from Razorlight…

    If you don’t like his voice that’s one thing, but I don’t think they sound similar at all.

    • That’s interesting, I think they have the same phrasing and tone. I don’t hate this album, far from it, but after a while his vocals grated a bit.

Leave a Reply

