14/09/2014 – Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass-A Walk in the Black Forest (1965)

Lazy Sunday’s require fitting lazy music

 

 

Today I am sat on the sofa not doing very much, eating food that isn’t very healthy. Part of the reason for this self-imposed exile from the world is that last night I drank a bit too much Guinness and as tomorrow is Monday, I fancy a day doing nothing.

 

 

When a day is full of slothful behaviour it needs a righteously slothful soundtrack. Today I am playing the 1965 Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass classic Going Places. It’s chocked full of hit after hit after hit. At times you think it’s a best of, but it’s not. How Herb Alpert and the TJB came up with songs of this magnitude keeps me guessing more than an episode of Lost.

 

 

So if you are like me today and need something lazy and laid back to play, I heartily recommend this album!

 

 

Herb Alpert & The Tijuana Brass – A Walk In The Black Forest

 

 

September 2014

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/thisyearinmusicxx

 

 

@thisyearinmusic

5 comments
  1. I remember this title from the time I was a youngster–unless I’ve mixed it up. Relaxing music in time of need. I’m glad to say, I haven’t drunk too much Guinness. Better–I don’t have to go to work tomorrow, or the day after that and so on until I gasp my last breath. Happy listening.

    • It’s such a fun album, it’s perfect for loafing. I was tempted to play the Residents, but though a bit of TJB would be better.

  2. Perfect album for the mood/space I’m in today. Thank you!

    • Glad you like it! You should check out his other TJB albums. They’re all pretty much gold.

Leave a Reply

