14/09/2013 – Baishe Kings E.O.M. (2013)

Over the last few months I’ve been getting pretty bored by the current state of Hip Hop. But what about Jay-Z & Kanye I hear you ask? But when you get down to it, they’re just ‘authentic’ pop stars. This might sound contentious (and I don’t want to start a war of words) but I don’t think that either of them have ever made a good album. Individual songs yes, they both have some great tunes, but as a whole their albums are underwhelming. But what about OFWGKTA? They’re young and massively talented and they aren’t pandering to the mainstream. Yes you are correct, but after their original explosion and the thought of their promise for the future, they’ve gone a bit, well, they’ve never really recaptured that original zeal that made them original and exciting. This is probably my fault for having high expectations.

I had resigned myself that I may never get massively excited about Hip Hop again, but then I heard Baishe Kings. My faith in the world was restored. Here was a group to get excited about. Actually this is the most excited I’ve been about a new group since The Eighties Matchbox B-Line Disaster. And I loved them. Baishe Kings are a 7 piece Hip Hop group from South London and they are fucking amazing. They have amazing beats and excellent lyrics. They’re simple but not stupid, complex but not confusing, funny but not slapstick. I could go on, but you get the point. Anyone that mentions, wrestling, Wu-Tang Clan, a night out and samples Collapsed Lung in one song gets my respect!

For a long time I hoped that the UK would produce a home grown Wu-Tang Clan (for me the greatest rap group of all time). I didn’t want a carbon copy\pastiche but an actual serious group that made mind fuckingly amazing music that was enjoyable to listen to. A tall order, but Baishe Kings do this. The future is there’s,  and if they deliver more of what they’ve shown they can do (now they’ve signed to Big Dada) they could be an unstoppable force. Not just in the UK, but on the World’s stage.

Leave a Reply

